Buckingham Fountain Chicago Photographs

chicago-buckingham-fountain-photos

Marvelous Photograph of Chicago’s Buckingham Fountain lit up at dusk

Friedman Fine Art offers a marvelous selection of historical and contemporary photographs taken by Chicago photographers. In the center of Grant Park, Chicago, Buckingham Fountain is one of the largest fountains in the world. It runs until 11 pm, from April to October, producing a major water display with a center jet that shoots 150 feet into the air. At dusk, the Fountain’s water display is accompanied by a light and music show. During the winter, the fountain is decorated with festival lights.

The fountain’s official name is the Clarence Buckingham Memorial Fountain. On August 26, 1927, Kate Sturges Buckingham dedicated the structure to the people of Chicago in memory of her brother, Clarence. She donated one million dollars to the Fountain and established the Buckingham Fountain Endowment Fund to pay for its maintenance. The Fountain officially opened to the public on May 26, 1927.

The Buckingham Fountain consists of four basins composed of carved granite and pink Georgia marble. The bottom pool of the fountain is about 280 feet in diameter, with a 103-foot lower basin, a 60-foot middle basin, and a 24-foot upper basin.

Beaux arts architect Edward H. Bennett designed the Fountain with French sculptor Marcel Loyau and engineer Jacques H. Lambert. Its design was inspired by the Bassin de Latome and modeled after Latona Fountain at Versailles. The Buckingham Fountain however, is twice the size and recirculates approximately three times more water than Latona Fountain.

The Fountain is considered Chicago’s front door, located at Columbus Drive and Congress Parkway. It symbolizes Lake Michigan and four sea horses on the structure represent the states of Illinois, Wisconsin, Michigan, and Indiana, that border the lake.

In 1994, the fountain received about $2 million to restore its three smallest basins, which developed leaks due to Chicago’s winters. Recent renovation on the under drainage system, landscaping, lighting and bronze elements of Buckingham Fountain that began in September 2008 has not been completed due to lack of funds.

For more information about images of Buckingham Fountain, please, contact us at 312-666-9797.

 

Advertisements

Contemporary Photograph – The Bean Photo Chicago, IL

The Bean Photo Chicago IL
90025
USA, Illinois, Chicago, Millennium Park Picture, SBC Plaza, Tourists walking in the park

Friedman Fine Art in association with www.chicago-photographs.com are pleased to present this contemporary photograph of Chicago’s Cloud Gate, better known as ‘The Bean’. The Bean is a stainless steel reflective sculpture in Chicago’s Millennium Park. The panels that make up the Bean reflect and distort Chicago’s skyline, making it an iconic place to take photographs of the city. Construction on this iconic landmark began in 2004 and was completed in 2006 by architect Anish Kapoor. Known in Chicago as one of the best places to take a “selfie”, the Bean has become a popular attraction for Chicagoans and tourists alike. This Bean photo is part of a collection found on Chicago Photography and Chicago Photographs.

To purchase this photograph or other contemporary and historic Chicago scenes, click on the following link, Chicago Photography and Chicago Photographs.

Chicago Board of Trade Photographs

Chicago Board of Trade

CBOT 1938 Picture Old Chicago
Historical Chicago Board of Trade – 1938

Friedman Fine Art and chicago-photographs.com present a series of photographs highlighting the historic Chicago Board of Trade bbuilding located at 141 W. Jackson Boulevard. While the building is composed of two parts, the North Building, which was built in 1930 by architects Holabird and Root, has been designated as a Chicago landmark and its lobby along with the façade has been placed on the National Register of Historic Places. Among the various features, which distinguish the Chicago Board of Trade in the Chicago Skyline is the Ceres sculpture at the top of the building. The sculpture was designed by sculptor, John H. Storrs and features Ceres, the Roman goddess of grain, holding a sheaf of wheat and a bag of corn. To see more historic and contemporary pictures of the Chicago Board of Trade building, please click the link to our slideshow,
Chicago Board of Trade Photos .

For information on how to purchase these beautiful and other marvelous photos, you can follow this link, Chicago Photography and Chicago Photographs

Chicago Photographs, 35 E. Wacker

Chicago Photographs, 35 E. Wacker

historic photograph of 35 E. Wacker
Historic, black and white photograph of 35 E. Wacker

Friedman Fine Art and chicago-photographs.com are pleased to provide you an array of historic and contemporary photographs of Chicago, including beautiful photos highlighting Chicago’s architecture. 35 E. Wacker is one of Chicago’s most iconic buildings and we have a number of historic, black and white pictures available for purchase, which feature this marvelous example of architecture. Designed by architects Frederick Thielbar and John Reed Rugard; and Joachim Giaver and Fredrick Dinkelberg, who did the building’s terra cotta cladding, 35 E. Wacker has a rich history since the building’s completion in 1926. Although the building’s tenants have changed throughout the years, 35 E. Wacker is best known for its original tenants and therefore, its name as the “Jeweler Building” where it housed most of Chicago’s diamond merchants. To see photographs featuring the iconic 35 E. Wacker, please follow the link to the slideshow, Chicago Photographs – 35 E. Wacker.

For information on how to purchase these beautiful and other marvelous photos, you can follow this link, Chicago Photography and Chicago Photographs.

Historical and Contemporary Photographs of Chicago, Illinois

CNA Building
CNA Building

Friedman Fine Art presents historical and contemporary photographs of the sites in Chicago. The CNA Center is located one block from Michigan Avenue and the open space of Grant Park, making it stand out. At 333 South Wabash Avenue in the Loop in Chicago, it was designed by Graham, Anderson, Probst & White and completed in 1972, opening a year later. Standing 44 stories, the rectangular structure was painted red to depict the sun setting over the ocean.

In 1999, a shard of glass fell from a 29th floor window and killed a woman walking on Wabash Avenue. It wasn’t the first time glass had fallen from the building. In 1994, glass had injured a man on the sidewalk below. The building had a history of cracking windows for more than 20 years.

After an investigation, the building’s owner paid a huge fine to the city and settled the lawsuit filed by the family. All 3,000 windows in the building were replaced with new glass. CNA Financial insurance company still physically checks each window monthly.

Today the windows on CNA Center are often used to produce light messages, typically those for holidays and other events. For example, in 2005 there were messages while the White Sox played and won the 2005 World Series. To purchase the photograph or learn about purchasing more of these marvelous photographs.

Pictures of Chicago Buildings in Downtown Chicago for Sale

State of Illinois Building
State of Illinois Building

Friedman Fine Art offers the finest selection from a collection of historical and contemporary photographs taken by Chicago photographers. The State of Illinois Building is one of Chicago’s most popular sites for concerts, fundraisers, and other special events. The building features an 600-seat Assembly Hall Auditorium, an art gallery, 3 floors of restaurants and shops, and 13 floors of balconies. Located at 100 W. Randolph Street in the Loop, it also houses offices of the State of Illinois.Designed by Murphy/Helmut Jahn, the building opened in May 1985 as the State of Illinois Center, and was renamed in 1993 to honor former Illinois Governor James R. Thompson. The building contains glass elevator shafts, glass-paneled walls and ceiling, and marble floors. Instead of insulated glass, which was expensive at the time, non-insulated glass panels was used, causing the need for a more air conditioning and heating during the seasons.

In front of the Thompson Center is a sculpture, Monument With Standing Beast, by Jean Dubuffet. Standing 29 feet, the white fiberglass work of art has been perceived as a tree, standing animal, or architectural form. It was unveiled on November 28, 1984, funded under the State of Illinois Art-in-Architecture Program.

Tunnels of the Chicago Pedway enter the buildings food-court concourse, taking people from 203 North LaSalle Street, the Chicago Title and Trust Company and Chicago City Hall. For more information on this collection and how to purchase photographs, contact Loren Friedman at info@friedmanfineart.net

Buy Historic Black and White Chicago Building Photographs

Fisher Building
Fisher Building

Friedman Fine Art offers a diverse collection of historical and contemporary photographs in Chicago. At 275 feet, the Fisher Building is a 20-story neo-Gothic landmark, located in the Chicago Loop at 343 South Dearborn Street. The building is known for its interesting terra cotta tracery, or carvings of aquatic creatures including fish and crabs on the lower floors. There are carvings of eagles, dragons, and mythical creatures on the upper floors.

Designed by Charles Atwood of D.H. Burnham and Company, the first phase of the Fisher Building opened in 1896. This 18-story building measured about 230 feet tall and was the second-tallest building in the city at the time. Its steel frame took only 25 days to complete. An addition on the north side of the building was made in 1906, which raised the building from 18 to 20 stories. Former employee of the Burnham firm Peter J. Weber, designed and oversaw the addition, which was completed in 1907.

The interior of the building was decorated with expensive materials. Many of the floors had colorful mosaic designs. The wainscoting was composed of Carrara marble and mahogany wood was present in its the trim.

Today, the Fisher Building is the oldest 18-story building in Chicago that has not been demolished. It is currently owned and managed by Village Green Management Company, and has apartments on floors 3–20 and commercial stores on the first and second floors. To purchase this vintage photograph or more Chicago photographs.

Carson Pirie Scott Photographs – Chicago’s Black and White Building Photos

Carson Pirie Scott
Carson Pirie Scott

Friedman Fine Art offers unique high quality historical and contemporary photos of Chicago, including a selection of black and white photos of famous buildings in the city. The Carson, Pirie, Scott and Company building, now known as the Sullivan Center, is located on the southeast corner of State and Madison streets in the Loop at 1 State St. It was designed by Louis Sullivan for the retail firm Schlesinger & Mayer in 1899.

The building was built in two phases. First, Sullivan designed a nine-story building, and the second building took over the first, which was built in 1903 reaching 12 stories high. Burnham and Root were hired to help complete the additions.

Notable for its elaborate ironwork ornament on the first and second floor and its steel framework, Carson Pirie Scott building is a National Historic Landmark. Bronze and terra cotta also set the building apart from others.

In 2006, Bon-Ton Stores Inc. of Carson Pirie Scott announced the department store in the building would close. Carson’s closed in February 2007 and was renamed the Sullivan Center, currently owned by Joseph Freed and Associates LLC. The 600,000-square-foot building is the home of office, restaurant, and school users. Tenants of the Sullivan Center include the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and Target, which opened in 2012.

The building is open to the public during normal business hours.

To view more Historical Buildings of Chicago Photos.

Chicago Photos of The Famous Drake Hotel for Sale

Chicago Photograph Drake Hotel
The Drake Hotel

Friedman Fine Art offers historical and contemporary photographs in Chicago. Since its beginning on New Year’s Eve 1920, the Drake Hotel, located downtown on the lake side of Michigan Avenue, has been known for its elegance and hospitality. It features 535 elegantly decorated guest rooms and 74 suites, including a six-room Presidential Suite and several restaurants.

Some notable guests of the Hotel are Winston Churchill, Eleanor Roosevelt, President Dwight Eisenhower, Prince Charles, Walt Disney, Frank Sinatra, and President Ronald Reagan.

In 1916, Tracy Drake and John Drake acquired the property from the estate of Potter Palmer. Descendent William Drake and his wife lived at the hotel until the family lost the hotel during the Great Depression. Hilton International bought the Hotel in 1996, and starting two years later, corridors and guest rooms were renovated.

Located in the Magnificent Mile, the Drake Hotel connects the Gold Coast residential area and the new commercial area, north Michigan Avenue. It provides the perfect spaces for meetings and gatherings. It has classic decor, luxury bedding, marble bathrooms, and views of Lake Michigan and the city.

More Vintage Chicago Building Historical Photographs of Chicago.

Chicago’s Congress Hotel – Marvelous Photographs

Chicago Photos
Congress Hotel

Friedman Fine Art presents remarkable contemporary and historical photographs taken by Chicago photographers. The Congress Hotel is a historic Chicago hotel on Michigan Avenue, which was originally built to accommodate visitors to the World’s Columbian Exposition in 1893. Located across South Michigan Avenue from Grant Park in Chicago at 520 South Michigan Avenue, this 14-story hotel serviced our nation’s Presidents, foreign dignitaries, movie celebrities, and housed many conventions. The guestrooms and suites of the Congress Hotel are spacious and decorative, with stunning views of Lake Michigan.Designed by architect Clinton J. Warren, the 11-story structure was originally constructed for an annex to the Auditorium Theater across the street. The two buildings were linked by Peacock Alley, a marble underground passage. In 1902 and in 1907, the firm of Holabird & Roche oversaw construction of two additions, making the entire complex 1 million square feet.

In 1940, Chicago artist Louis Grell was commissioned to paint thirteen murals for the lunettes, architectural features around the grand lobby. The murals had popular scenes in Chicago at the time. In 1955 Pick had Grell paint three walls for the Pompeian Room which also housed the Louis Comfort Tiffany glass fountain. The building also features the famous Gold Room, one of Chicago’s most beautiful ballrooms. Find more Old Chicago Photos.